Members of Congress Continue to Reaffirm Opposition to Unilateral West Bank Annexation

f t # e
Washington, May 14, 2020 | comments

Today, Representatives Gerald Connolly (VA-11), Jan Schakowsky (IL-9), David Price (NC-4), John Yarmuth (KY-3), Andy Levin (MI-9), Peter Welch (VT), Alan Lowenthal (CA-47), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Earl Blumenauer (OR-3), Deb Haaland (NM-1), and Lloyd Doggett (TX-35), issued the following statement as the new government in Israel is sworn in:

“After a year of political deadlock Israel has now seated its new coalition government. As the new Israeli government gets sworn in, and as U.S. Secretary of State Pompeo completes his trip to Israel, we continue to express our firm opposition to the Administration’s one-sided “Peace to Prosperity” proposal and any efforts by the Israeli government to annex West Bank territory unilaterally.

“We ask the Secretary of State, whose assigned mission is to advance America’s interests, to communicate opposition to unilateral annexation and to endorse direct negotiations between the parties, reaffirming decades of bipartisan U.S. foreign policy. The U.S. House of Representatives recently expressed its will on this matter by passing H.Res.326, which restated long-held U.S. policy that supports a two state solution, opposes unilateral annexation, and explicitly warns against the dangers of such an effort for Israel’s security and the prospects for peace.”

H.Res.326, which reaffirmed the longstanding support of the House for a two-state solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, passed the House in December 2019.
f t # e

Office Locations