Korea Caucus Congratulates President-Elect Moon Jae

f t # e
Washington, May 9, 2017 | comments
U.S. Representatives Gerry Connolly (D-VA), Peter J. Roskam (R-IL), Mike Kelly (R-PA), and Ami Bera (D-CA), Co-Chairs of the Congressional Caucus on Korea, released the following statement on the election of Moon Jae-in as President of the Republic of Korea:

“We extend our sincere congratulations to President-Elect Moon Jae-in and wish him and his administration well in the months and years ahead as they prepare to lead the Republic of Korea – a key and indispensable U.S. ally – through the many challenges facing the Korean Peninsula.

“As Co-Chairs of the Korea Caucus, we remain steadfastly committed to defending and strengthening the U.S.-Korea alliance. Our relationship was forged on the battlefield nearly seven decades ago and now forms a lynchpin of U.S. foreign policy in the Asia Pacific region. Through our shared values of democracy, free markets, and the rule of law, we will continue to ensure peace and prosperity in the region and stand resolutely against North Korean aggression.

“We look forward to working together with President-Elect Moon Jae-in and his administration during this critical time for the alliance. We also wish to recognize the nearly two million Korean Americans throughout the United States who play a vital role in maintaining our strong bilateral relationship.”

f t # e

Office Locations