Skip to Content

Connolly, Chabot Reintroduce Crimea Annexation Non-recognition Act

Today, Representative Gerry Connolly (D-VA), President of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly, and Representative Steve Chabot (R-OH), reintroduced the Crimea Annexation Non-recognition Act, bipartisan legislation that would prohibit federal agencies from taking any action that recognizes Russian sovereignty over Crimea. The legislation passed the House in March 2019, by a vote of 427-1.

“Russia’s forcible and illegal annexation of Crimea has sent shockwaves throughout the former Soviet-occupied territories, many of whom are now NATO allies, including the Baltic States,” said Connolly. “Failure to stand up against Putin’s illegal annexation of Crimea will set a dangerous and irrevocable precedent. Our legislation makes clear that Congress will continue to stand with Crimea.”


“The United States should never recognize Vladimir Putin’s illegal annexation of Crimea and his illicit claims to sovereignty over it,” Chabot said. “I am proud to once again lead this legislation with Mr. Connolly which sets a definitive policy to prohibit the United States from treating the Crimean Peninsula as part of Russia. This legislation is one clear step toward countering Putin’s Crimean landgrab.”

The FY 2016-FY 2021 National Defense Authorization Acts included similar language to this bill, prohibiting Department of Defense funds from being used on any action that recognizes Russian sovereignty over Crimea. This legislation would apply that prohibition to the federal government writ-large.

Text of the Crimea annexation Non-recognition Act is available here.

Back to top