Skip to Content

Connolly, 91 Members of Congress Urge Humanitarian Aid for Gaza

Today, Congressman Gerry Connolly (D-VA), a senior member of the House Committee on Foreign Affairs, and the President Emeritus of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly, joined 91 of his colleagues in in sending a letter to House and Senate leadership urging swift passage of President Biden’s request for emergency funding to meet the rising humanitarian needs in Gaza and Israel.

"The need for aid into Gaza could not be clearer with fuel supplies running low, organizations struggling to meet their mission, and hospitals in Gaza struggling to provide life saving care," wrote the Members. "At the time of this letter, 374 trucks, carrying essential supplies including food, water, and medical resources, have crossed into Gaza from Egypt through the Rafah border crossing. This number is a fraction of what is needed to meet the needs posed by the current crisis. The Administration's request to expand aid is crucial, especially considering the potential crisis-induced displacement across borders. This extension, addressing evolving programming needs not only in Gaza but also in Israel, the West Bank, Lebanon, Jordan, Syria, and Egypt, deserves unwavering support so that the region may finally experience security and stability."

In addition to Connolly, the letter was signed by the following Members of Congress: Reps. Colin Allred (D-TX), Joyce Beatty (D-OH), Ami Bera (D-CA), Julia Brownley (D-CA), Shontel Brown (D-OH), Nikki Budzinski (D-IL), Yadira Caraveo (D-CO), Salud Carbajal (D-CA), André Carson (D-IN), Troy Carter (D-LA), Matt Cartwright (D-PA), Sean Casten (D-IL), Judy Chu (D-CA), Joe Courtney(D-CT), Angie Craig (D-MN), Jasmine Crockett (D-TX), Jason Crow (D-CO), Sharice Davids (D-KS), Madeleine Dean (D-PA), Diana DeGette (D-CO), Christopher Deluzio (D-PA), Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA), Debbie Dingell (D-MI), Lloyd Doggett (D-TX), Adriano Espaillat (D-NY), Dwight Evans (D-PA), Bill Foster (D-IL), Valerie Foushee (D-NC), John Garamendi (D-CA), Sylvia Garcia (D-TX), Jimmy Gomez (D-CA), Jahana Hayes (D-CT), James Himes (D-CT), Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA), Glenn Ivey (D-MD), Sara Jacobs (D-CA), Henry Johnson (D-GA), Sydney Kamlager-Dove (D-CA), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), William Keating (D-MA), Daniel Kildee (D-MI), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Andy Kim (D-NJ), Ann Kuster (D-NH), Susie Lee (D-NV), Mike Levin (D-CA), Ted Lieu (D-CA), Doris Matsui (D-CA), Betty McCollum (D-MN), Morgan McGarvey (D-KY), James McGovern (D-MA), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Seth Moulton (D-MA), Frank Mrvan (D-IN), Kevin Mullin (D-CA), Chris Pappas (D-NH), Bill Pascrell (D-NJ), Donald Payne (D-NJ), Scott Peters (D-CA), Brittany Pettersen (D-CO), Stacey Plaskett (D-VI), Katie Porter (D-CA), Jamie Raskin (D-MD), Deborah Ross (D-NC), Raul Ruiz (D-CA), Patrick Ryan (D-NY), Andrea Salinas (D-OR), Linda Sanchez (D-CA), John Sarbanes (D-MD), Janice Schakowsky (D-IL), Kim Schrier (D-WA), Terri Sewell (D-AL), Elissa Slotkin (D-MI), Eric Sorensen (D-IL), Darren Soto (D-FL), Abigail Spanberger (D-VA), Melanie Stansbury (D-NM), Greg Stanton (D-AZ), Haley Stevens (D-MI), Eric Swalwell (D-CA), Emilia Sykes (D-OH), Mark Takano (D-CA), Shri Thanedar (D-MI), Paul Tonko (D-NY), Norma Torres (D-CA), Lori Trahan (D-MA), David Trone (D-MD), Gabe Vasquez (D-NM), Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ), Susan Wild (D-PA), and Nikema Williams (D-GA).

Text of the letter is available here
Back to top